Random Posts

How to Cope on the Days when You REALLY Don’t Feel Like Pressing Forward

 

woman-alone
Image Source

Writing is my release. It is my voice. Sometimes I use this blog to express how I am feeling and hopefully help others who may be feeling the same. This post is, therefore, being written as a means for me to vent my frustration and seek solace. This year has been a year of bold moves for me. Moves that I was really hyped up about. Moves that made me feel like I was getting somewhere and achieving some measure of happiness and comfort in my own skin. I was excited about my business, excited about the possibilities, and earnestly looking for ways to achieve the success I desire. The past four weeks have, however, tilted my world on its axis.

I feel frustrated and purposeless. My day job has been stressful and has eaten away at my business. My business is now a shell of what I was endeavoring to transform it into. When I wake up in the morning the first thought that comes to my mind is, “Do I really have to get up?” I have begun to question my passion, my abilities, and whether I am really enough because I really don’t seem to be.

While reflecting on my feelings today, I realized that everything I face is all a matter of perspective. How I view the world around me is directly proportional to how I respond to it. The things that I allow to cloud my mind and enter my space affect my ability to function optimally. How do I clear my thoughts and regain a positive perspective?

Know that You’ve Done it Before and You Can Do It Again

I have triple the amount of work now at my day job with the possibility of even greater responsibilities being added in the near future. However, I have always been in high stress situations and I’ve always pulled through. In those high stress situations I was able to balance my business, work life, and family life effectively. If I’ve done it before, I can definitely do it again.

Do Things that Build You Up instead of Tear You Down

I need to read more and immerse myself in literature that helps me grow. I don’t watch television as much as I used to, but there is some room for allowing more edifying things to enter my mind. I already surround myself with people who are my biggest advocates and supporters…progressive people. We support and love each other. So, there’s no need to change my friends or avoid doing the things they do. I just need to work more on purging my thoughts.

Stay Focused Even if Things Seem Impossible

Nothing good ever comes easily. The road really looks rocky and bleak, but there must be light at the end of the tunnel… hope on the horizon. At that point when you’re ready to give up, you may just be on the verge of something great. I keep replaying that sentence in my mind. Now is not the time to give up; it’s the time to press forward.

The right perspective opens doors. It makes the impossible, possible. It reignites the fire that has died within you. Regardless of how hard things may seem, keep pressing forward.

 

 

Leave a Reply

