Embracing You · Friendships · Random Posts

Striking the Right Life Balance

Goal-Setting
The road to success (Image Source)

There are two types of people: those who spend money on things and those who spend money on experiences. Scrolling through Facebook a few months ago, I saw an image with this statement. It has stuck with me since. Yesterday, I was discussing the concept with one of my best friends. We were bemoaning the fact that our lives have become consumed by two things: work and stressing about the future. We made a decision; we have to start enjoying life while keeping our goals in check.

We are the type of women who are concerned about owning a home, building a family, and maintaining our independence. These lofty life goals come with immense pressure. At the end of the month, after I’ve paid all my bills and put away a little savings, there really isn’t much left for me to do anything with. Nevertheless, I have been resolute in my resolve to find ways to save towards my lofty life goals. My resolve has facilitated my natural inclination to enjoy my own company. Why spend all of this money to spend time with my friends when I can stay at home and watch tv? The conversation I had with my friend yesterday has helped me answer that question. I’ve come up with 3 tips to help me focus on finding a balance between life of experiences and attaining my goals.

Tip #1: Budget Wisely

Budgeting is key to finding the right life balance. I believe in the principle of paying yourself first when you get your paycheque. However, this money is air-marked for accomplishing my lofty life goals. So, my entertainment money isn’t coming from that source. This, therefore, means that I have to now decide to set aside an additional sum for entertainment. I work best when these outings are planned. Planned outings help me budget better, but I know that there will be times when my friends want to be spontaneous. I’m now going to make a small allowance for that in my budget.

Tip #2: Know that Some Experiences will be Worth the Price Tag

The main reason for me not having more fun life experiences is that these experiences are often quite pricey. However, with the right budgeting I know that I can enjoy some of these pricey experiences. Sometimes we just have to close our eyes and fork out the cash. Most of the times we don’t regret it.

Tip #3: Always Keep Your Main Goals in the Spotlight

Have sensible fun. Don’t succumb to the temptation to spend frivolously. Always keep your goals in sight so that you know when to reign yourself in. I know that I often do this at the expense of truly letting go and having fun, but I also know that I need to keep those goals in sight.

The road to success is going to be littered with many challenges. It’s easy to become overwhelmed by the challenges. Therefore, it is important for all of us to be able to  value acquiring experiences. Having awesome experiences with your family and friends on a budget is possible and can lead to a happier life. I’m hoping that by following these tips, I will be able to find the right life balance. Hopefully, the same will be true for you.

Leave a Reply

