Embracing You

Confidence and Self-Perception

8453148_orig

(Image Source)

One of my friends constantly repeats this famous Marcus Garvey quote to me whenever I begin to wallow in self-pity. It portrays a very powerful message that I’m only now beginning to embrace. If suffering from a severe lack of confidence was a recognized psychological condition, I would be diagnosed with it. Lacking self-confidence only produces defeat and causes you to see every challenge as an insurmountable obstacle. Don’t get it twisted though. Having confidence doesn’t mean being narcissistic or full of too much pride. Confidence requires having a healthy view of one’s self and abilities while humbly accepting the fact that there will always be others out there who are better than you. So, how can someone who has a negative self-image develop this healthy sense of confidence? This is a question that I constantly ask myself and I think I have finally discovered some possible answers.

Find What You Love

There is something magical about finding something that you’re truly passionate about. I have found that I truly enjoy writing and I function at my best when I am sitting in front of my laptop pouring my thoughts onto the computer screen. When you realize that something really comes to you naturally, you begin to truly believe that you have something to offer to the world. Finding a passion is more difficult for some people than others. However, it isn’t impossible. Keep dabbling in things that interest you and one day you’ll truly discover what really makes your heart sing.

Constantly Look for Learning Opportunities

Oftentimes the areas where we lack confidence are the areas where we have the most inadequacies. It’s easy to be confident in something you’re naturally gifted at, but it’s much harder to feel that same level of confidence in something you feel you lack the ability to do. I fervently believe that each of us can do anything that we set out minds to. I know the areas in which I feel most inadequate and I have decided that, instead of lamenting on how incapable I feel, I am going to constantly look for advice from those who are gifted in the area and do my own research. Once I do these things and implement what I’ve learnt, I am sure improvement will follow.

Believe in Yourself

No one else is going to feel as strongly about your dreams as you do. You are the master of your happiness and emotions. It is amazing how simply saying the words “I can” with great conviction can change the way you perceive and act on things. The word can’t should not be in your vocabulary. Believe in the beautiful person you are and have the potential to become.

Don’t be defeated by your lack of confidence. Make a decision today to truly believe in who you are so that you can move forward into your destiny.

2 thoughts on “Confidence and Self-Perception

Leave a Reply

