Random Posts

Following Your Dreams

Last week Sunday I had an interesting conversation with my dad. For a little over a year I have been battling depression and I have developed a tendency to retreat into a very dark place when my depression is at its peak. Life had begun to be meaningless to me. Every day I woke up wondering what I was living for…why I had to be alive. However, there is one thing that my dad said that has stuck in my head, “When you give up on your dreams your life becomes pointless. Never give up on your dreams.” Dad has no clue what I battle daily. In fact, no one does. But that statement made me feel as though he was seeing my thoughts and putting them on the right trajectory.

Life is pointless when you lack vision and hope. Life is meaningless when you refuse to dream. I prefer using the phrase “follow your dreams” instead of “chasing your dreams” because the word chasing implies that your dreams are running away from you. That’s not the case. Regardless of who you are, your dreams should be a constant vision in your mind. They are there to encourage you when all hope seems lost. They are the guide that takes you on a path of great success, even if they seem elusive. 

There are three key principles that I believe can help all of us to hold steadfast to our dreams.

Be Optimistic

Pessimism and negativity serve one purpose- draining my energy. I am sure that both of these characteristics drain your energy as much as they drain mine. If you view yourself and your life negatively then it stands to reason that you will view life as pointless. Make a conscious decision to view the positive in every situation, regardless of how bleak that situation may seem. Positive thoughts attract positive experiences. 

There is ALWAYS a Lesson to be Learnt

One of the greatest lessons I have learnt over the past year is how to interact with people. I have made many mistakes in this regard, especially with some newfound friends. However, I am slowly learning from my experiences. Don’t allow your experiences to weigh you down. Instead, find the lesson that you need to learn from them. When you learn the lesson, you won’t make the same mistake. 

Understand Who You Are

One of the prevailing thoughts in my mind is that I don’t fit in with any group of people because of my personality. I accept people fairly easily, but people find it hard to accept me. I am slowly beginning to realise, however, that the main person who needs to accept me is me. When I am able to accept myself then those in my personal circle will be able to accept me.  Having the right circle is important to realising my dreams because I need that support system. 

Understanding who I am also encompasses identifying my passion. Passion is what makes us get up each morning feeling happy to face the day. Passion is what drives us. I am slowly piecing my passion together, but I know that when I get there something magical is going to happen.
I felt compelled to express my random thoughts today. Dreams are important. They drive our passion and our passion empowers us to face each day. Don’t give up on your dreams. Live, breathe, and see them everyday. 

3 thoughts on “Following Your Dreams

Leave a Reply

