When It All Is Just Too Much

llklklkl
Sad black woman (Image Source)

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” ~Albert Einstein

Life is a journey that is riddled with several disappointments, failures, good times, and triumphs. However, how we choose to approach life can make or break us. If we view it as a gift we will spend every waking moment making the most of it, but if we view it as a curse then we will spend all of our time focusing on the negatives and depleting our mental energy. Over the past few years, I have viewed life as a curse. What really is my purpose here? What value do I add to this world? Why do I do the things I do? However, this week the pressure became so great that I really felt like giving up.  Financial responsibilities, life choices and the immense stress at work were all becoming too much.  Today, I was reflecting during the ride home from work and I realized that I can change how I approach my life by practicing the following steps.

Just Breathe

When everything seems to be tumbling down around you just close your eyes, take a deep breath, hold it for ten seconds and release it. You would be surprised by how this simple exercise can grant you relief. It helps you to let go of the negative energy that is consuming your thoughts. Personally, it helps me to stop worrying and just let go. The next time when you feel like there are too many things coming at you at once, just breathe, let go of the negative energy, and move on.

Be Realistic

One of the things that affects me greatly is my job and, although I had made the decision to approach what I do with a different attitude for this term, I find it so difficult to enjoy what I do. Nevertheless, the reality is that I have a job and I need the job in order to earn an income. So, the best thing for me to do is suck it up and give it my best shot. I have to make the choice to conquer my reality so that better opportunities can present themselves.

Pray

There is no one who understands your thoughts and heart’s desires better than God. He knows when you feel depressed or overwhelmed or pressured. As a result, He is the best person to pour your heart out to. Place all your burdens at His feet and you will be amazed by how well He handles them.

 

These three steps are helping me to come out of this negative space that I have been in and I hope they will also help you. When you become overwhelmed just breathe, accept your reality, and pray. Everything will fall into place eventually.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

