Letting Go

cliff_hanging

Your fingers grip tightly to the ledge as you look down at the dark space in the middle of the canyon. Fear grips your heart and threatens to take your breath away as you try your best to prevent yourself from falling into this deep abyss. No one can hear your screams for help and you have no idea what fate you will experience if you decide to take the fall. What should you do?

So often in life we find ourselves holding on so tightly to things, people, and situations that when the time comes for us to let go, we are so afraid that we will fall into an abyss of uncertainty and hopelessness that we choose to hold on to these sources of our pain and unhappiness. I realise that I have been holding on to the ledge of a ‘relationship’ I have been in because I am just too afraid to let go. Several questions swirl through my brain…”What if I can actually make him love me exclusively?” “What if I let go and can never find a man again?” “Who is going to be there fore me when I’m lonely?” I’ve come to realise that the answer to these questions will only come if I let go and trust that something will be there to catch my fall. Here are some tips that I have come up with to help me to let go that I hope can also help you.

Know Your Worth

Don’t hold on to something or someone just because you want to fill a gap or find comfort. Know that you are worth having someone who loves you completely and will want to be with YOU and ONLY YOU; someone who want take you for granted and will view you as a valuable person in his life. You don’t deserve to settle.

Better Will Come

Things happen at the right times and we go through various experiences in life that can only help to make us stronger. When you let go of the person or situation that is causing you to doubt yourself and your worth, your eyes will be opened to the wealth of possibilities that are out there. There is always light at the end of the tunnel.

Hold on to the Right Things

When we let go of something, we take hold of something else. Allow your experiences to guide you into holding on to the right thing or people. As Albert Einstein cleverly puts it “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Move on from the bad and take up what is good.

 

When it’s time to let go just do what you have to and move on with your life. Don’t hold on to things that will only tear you down.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

