October 2013- Cecile Black

Image

Music is life and has the power to calm your soul and keep you in tune with your emotions. This month’s inspirational post is about Cecile Black, a young woman in her early twenties who believes that music is the only language that everyone in this world can understand which therefore gives it the power to bring life by transcending boundaries and bringing people together. She completed her Bachelor of Arts in History in 2011 and is currently in the third year of her Bachelor of Law degree at the University of the West Indies. However, what makes Cecile stand out from her peers is her spectacular musical talent that led her to cofound the two and a half year old band BlackasCole with her boyfriend Craig Cole. I caught up with her recently to find out the progress her band is making and any words of advice she could give to people reading this blog.

What inspired you to form BlackasCole?

I wanted to share my love for music and my words of love with the world.

What has the experience been like for Black as Cole?

We are a young band so we are still in the developmental stages trying to find our sound and understand our identity. The journey has its challenges and it is very difficult for us to make our mark as musicians in Jamaica. However, I have come to realize the importance of patience in this business and I have accepted the fact that my style of music has its niche and with time it will catch on.

How do you balance the demands of school with the demands of your band?

Life is all about balance so planning and time management are key. I try my best to distribute my time equally to both areas so that neither will suffer.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When I dream I dream BIG. So, in five years I see myself performing at the Grammys or on some other international stage.

Would you say that you are on the path to accomplishing your dreams?

Yes!! At times when I get discouraged something amazing happens that pushes me a step further so I know I am on the right path. Success is so near I can smell it. Lol

What advice would you give to people reading this blog to help them to follow their dreams?

Believe in yourself and push hard against all odds. Also, dream big because if your dreams don’t scare you then they are not big enough.

What advice would you give to people reading this blog to help them with relationships?

Relationships are delicate, once they break they are hard to mend. Love is the only thing that can keep them strong and alive. Neither money nor any material thing is as good as love for self and love for others. So, with love as the weapon you can win any battle.

Image

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

