Embracing You

Investing in Your Development

How can I become a better person? Almost everyday I wake up and ask myself that question. Becoming a better person helps you to ensure that you will leave a positive mark in the world when you die. I believe that the following steps can help us become better people:

Know Your Priorities
There will always be people who challenge what you believe in and will try to sidetrack you from what you need to do to grow. When you know what you stand for, noone can stand in your way.
However, how do we know what our major priorities should be? I believe that as a Christian my number one priority should be strengthening my relationship with God. If there are things in my life that are getting in the way of that then I need to get rid of them. My second priority is advancing my career. In order to fulfill the objectives needed to meet this priority I need to ask myself these questions:
1. Do I have the education and skills needed to enter the career path I have choosen?
2. How do I get a job in the field I am interested in?
3. What education and skills do I need to have in order to be promoted?
The third priority that I believe I should have is looking for ways to answer the question “How can I help people?”. This leads me to my next point.

Learn to be Selfless
Very few people are born with the natural ability to give their time and resources willingly to help others. Despite this fact, I believe that this is a skill that we all can learn. When we help others, we are able to become better people ourselves.

Use your Strengths to Your Advantage
I tend to be very negative about myself and focus solely on my flaws. These thoughts are not beneficial to anyone’s mental well being and can only lead to negative thoughts and actions throughout each day. Yes, we should be aware of our flaws but we should also be aware of our strengths. Although I am still discovering what my strengths are, I realise how important it is for me to embrace and develop them in order to create a healthy self image. Do things and get training, if necessary, to develop your strengths.

See Your Health As Important
I am always thinking about my calorie intake and how what I am eating is not good for my health. However, I have never done much to put my thoughts into action. It is very hard to make a decision to live a healthy lifestyle but doing so can only bring positive energy into your life.
I started exercising again and as I go through each day I feel as though I have more energy and the pain that I was feeling has vanished. Taking care of your physical well being while you’re young means that when you get older you will have fewer issues to deal with as it relates to your health.

What will you do today to become the best you? Begin each day with the question “How can I become a better person today?” and take the necessary steps to make that happen.

Leave a Reply

