Embracing You

Serving God

Serving God is one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life. I’m being real here. It requires a wholehearted self-giving that digs deep into your soul and forces you to eliminate personal desires and motives. It is time consuming and oftentimes lacks rewards. However, it is one of the most peaceful and joyful experiences.

I have been working at this summer camp at church for the past three weeks and I believe that it has brought a change in my heart. When I look at the faces of these youth and see the impact that the sessions are having on them I feel a sense of peace and happiness. A sense of purpose.

Although there are rarely any substantial monetary rewards, giving my all to service for the spiritual or emotional upliftment of youth has helped me to develop confidence in my limited abilities as well as helped me to truly understand how God wants to use me to help people.  I prefer to have this type of self understanding than great wealth and accolades.

Last night i spent the evening with two of my mom’s friends from the United States who have dedicated their lives to serving God through the InterVarsity ministry at the university level. They have so many stories to share about the lives they have touched and the people they have met because of where their ministry has taken them. They emphasised the importance of prayer and how prayer and faith in God have caused wonderful things to happen in their ministry and their personal lives. They insipired me to give more of myself to God and His work.

Serving God is the hardest thing you will ever do but it is the most rewarding experience you will ever have. Lives are transformed by the simple things you say and do as you are led by His Holy Spirit.

2 thoughts on “Serving God

  1. I am so happy, that someone finally agreed with me that serving God can be a challenge. Even when one can feel that empty space within one’s soul, we has humans still manage to fight that feeling, and tend to believe that we can conquer the world on our own. But I also do agree that whenever we do serve him the rewards are great.

Leave a Reply

